Saturday 21 December 2013 - 16:24

Bpost Bank Trophy Cyclocross Essen: Stybar Top 10 in Season Debut

Bpost Bank Trophy Cyclocross Essen: Stybar Top 10 in Season Debut

Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team rider Zdenek Stybar crossed the finish line to loud cheers from his supporters in Bpost Bank Trophy Cyclocross Essen on Saturday. Former Cyclocross World Champion Styby finished 8th after moving up as far as 2nd on a muddy course and a rainy day. Stybar impressed many with his performance despite Essen being his first cyclocross race of the 2013-2014 season.

At the end of the second lap, Stybar had moved up from top 10 to 2nd behind current World Champion Sven Nys. A mishap by Nys on a bunny hop caused a crash after the barriers mid-race, with Stybar and a chase group behind. The crash cost Nys a 20+ second advantage. Kevin Pauwels jumped on the opportunity and took an 11 second lead to Styby on the fourth lap. Stybar, at the time, had a gap of about 5 seconds to the other chasers. Pauwels went on to win, and despite a valiant effort by Stybar after limited time on his cyclocross bike leading into the race, he finished in the top 10.


Bpost Bank Trophy Cyclocross Essen Top 10

1. Kevin Pauwels in 1:01.48
2. Sven Nys op +28"
3. Niels Albert +34"
4. Jim Aernouts +38"
5. Thijs van Amerongen  +41"
6. Rob Peeters +47"
7. Bart Aernouts +54"
8. Zdenek Stybar  +1'04"
9. Klaas Vantornout +1'10"
10. Philipp Walsleben  +1'21"

Keep up to date on our social media channel